

Dominic Perrottet Treasurer Minister for Industrial Relations

MEDIA RELEASE

Friday, 21 April 2017

JANE SEYMOUR APPOINTED FIFTH IRC COMMISSIONER

Treasurer and Minister for Industrial Relations Dominic Perrottet today announced the appointment of lawyer and lecturer Jane Seymour as the fifth and final Commissioner of the NSW Industrial Relations Commission (IRC).

Ms Seymour replaces Commissioner Inaam Tabbaa, who retired in October last year but has continued as Acting Commissioner and Acting Chief Commissioner since then.

Mr Perrottet congratulated Ms Seymour on her appointment.

"Jane has more than 20 years' experience in the legal fields of workplace relations, employment and discrimination law, and she enjoys immense respect among her professional colleagues," Mr Perrottet said.

"I am delighted she has accepted the appointment, and wish her every success as she serves the people of NSW in this important role."

In addition to running her legal practice, Ms Seymour teaches employment law at the University of Sydney.

Mr Perrottet also thanked Acting Commissioner Tabbaa for her years of service at the IRC.

"Acting Commissioner Tabbaa has been a part of the IRC since 1991, and I would like to express the Government's deep gratitude for her decades of dedicated service, and I wish her all the best following her retirement from the IRC".

Ms Seymour's appointment follows that of Chief Commissioner Peter Kite earlier this month, fulfilling the Government's commitment to appoint five IRC members.

The IRC hears industrial disputes and settles employment conditions and remuneration for employees primarily in the NSW public sector and local government.

Ms Seymour will commence her role as Commissioner on 15 May 2017.

MEDIA: Anna Hitchings | 0437 765 466